8, §§ 11010–11150, subd. Other examples of industries that might have different rules include: If you fall into one of these groups or you think that your industry might be exempt from California’s meal break or rest period laws, it would probably be a good idea to speak with a California employment attorney about your situation. What is California’s Labor Law for Lunch Breaks? An employee is working a seven-hour shift. They also must provide a 10-minute rest period for every 4 hours of work. Code of Regs., tit. An employer does not have to pay for this time; in other words, meal breaks are unpaid. Code of Regs., tit. Code of Regs., tit. Under California meal break law (which is much more generous to employees than federal labor law), if you are a non-exempt worker, you are entitled to a 30-minute uninterrupted, duty-free meal break if you work more than 5 hours in a workday. Wal-Mart Worker Meal Breaks (a) [“An employer may not employ an employee for a work period of more than five hours per day without providing the employee with a meal period of not less than 30 minutes, except that if the total work period per day of the employee is no more than six hours, the meal period may be waived by mutual consent of both the employer and employee.”]; Cal. An employer who does not schedule and staff in a way that “provides” and “permits” an employee to take an uninterrupted, off-duty meal break on a shift, owes the employee an extra hour’s pay. No two businesses are alike and each one has its own employee considerations. In general, a claim or lawsuit must be filed within three years of the alleged meal period violation.79, If you are unsure whether an employee is exempt or non-exempt, visit our previous article, Exempt vs. Non-Exempt Employees: Guide to California Law.↥, See Labor Code, § 512, subd. We can determine if you have a case during your consultation. 11(A). California law permits employees to skip rest periods if they so choose, and there is no penalty to the employer if they do so.24 But employers may not pressure or encourage their employees to skip rest periods.25. For the assistance you need, and to learn more about your rights under California break laws, contact the workers’ rights lawyers at Workplace Rights Law Group today. Code of Regs., tit. Many employees in California have a right to receive meal breaks and rest periods during their shift. And don’t forget, the law has strict deadlines for filing certain claims. California labor laws require that employers provide employees with a meal period of no less than a 30-minute when they work more than five (5) consecutive hours; or for employees in the film industry who … Employers are not required to provide lactation breaks if doing so would seriously disrupt the employer’s business operations.60 This is a very high burden for an employer to meet, however, and lactation breaks will usually be required. Many only employ part-time employees, while others regularly have overtime hours worked and multiple shifts. 8, §§ 11010–11150, subd. Both state and federal laws require California employers to provide lactation breaks. 3 The right to a lactation break does not apply if it would seriously disrupt the operations of the employer. 4 … Under California Meal Break Law, nonexempt workers (those entitled to overtime under the FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act) are entitled to a 30 minutes uninterrupted meal break for every 5+ hours worked in a workday.The law is better than federal labor law. ALABAMA Break Laws: ∗ Alabama requires a 30-minute unpaid break for any 14 or 15 -year-old who works 5 or more consecutive hours. 2009.06.09 (Opens in new window) (June 9, 2009).↥, Brinker Restaurant Corp. v. Superior Court (2012) 53 Cal.4th 1004, 1036.↥, Cal. 8, §§ 11010–11150, subds. The California Supreme Court ultimately ruled in Brinker's favor on the most critical part of the decision – holding that employers do not have to ensure employees take their meal breaks. CA Dept. The … He was highly sensitive to my stresses and always responsive to my many questions. In California, most non-exempt employees are entitled to a certain number of meal breaks and rest periods throughout their work shifts. Pay periods in California are controlled by both state and federal laws. California employees who are considered non-exempt1 have a legal right to receive meal breaks and rest periods.2 And even most employees who are considered exempt still have a right to take meal breaks (but not rest periods).3, The number of breaks depends on the length of the employee’s shift. Relinquish control of the employee’s activities, and, Permit their employee a reasonable opportunity to take the entire 30-minute break uninterrupted., The nature of the work prevents an employee from being relieved of all duty,. 11(B) [“If an employer fails to provide an employee a meal period in accordance with the applicable provisions of this order, the employer shall pay the employee one (1) hour of pay at the employee’s regular rate of compensation for each workday that the meal period is not provided.”].↥, United Parcel Service, Inc. v. Superior Court (2011) 196 Cal.App.4th 57, 69 [“[W]hile section 226.7 is reasonably susceptible of alternative interpretations (one allowing a single premium payment per work day and another allowing up to two), we believe it is more reasonable to construe the statute as permitting up to two premium payments per workday—one for failure to provide one or more meal periods, and another for failure to provide one or more rest periods.”].↥, Cal. But if the employee is required to stay on the work premises or be on-call during the meal break, then it generally must be paid. .”].↥, Cal. Getting Money for Meal and Rest Break Violations. They only have to “provide” you with those break times. Some, termed rest breaks, are paid downtime, while others, like meal breaks and reasonable lactation breaks for nursing women, are off-the-clock personal time. How Many Days in a Row Can You Work in California? 8, §§ 11010–11150, subds. State law also requires a day of rest break. 8, §§ 11010–11150, subd. Code of Regs., tit. Arkansas Department of Labor. Your employer must give … California requires employers to offer both a meal break and paid rest breaks. The meal break doesn’t have to be paid, and the employee can give up his or her lunch break if the workday will last fewer than six hours. Our online HR Library on HRCalifornia is conveniently organized by the topics that are most important to human resources professionals, including benefits, compensation, discrimination, health and safety, time off and more. Meal Breaks. 1991.06.03 (Opens in new window) (June 3, 1991); Brinker Restaurant Corp. v. Superior Court (Opens in new window) (2012) 53 Cal.4th 1004, 1036 [“[T]he wage order’s meal period requirement is satisfied if the employee (1) has at least 30 minutes uninterrupted, (2) is free to leave the premises, and (3) is relieved of all duty for the entire period.”].↥, Labor Code, § 512, subd. Of course, the best way to resolve a meal and rest break dispute will depend on the employee’s specific situation. In general, this website is an advertisement for attorney . Employment Employee rights Employee protection laws Employee break laws and work hours Lawsuits and disputes. The employer has no legal obligation to provide that employee with a meal break. Starting in the new year, however, the differences between the two laws … We have explained this test further in our article: Exempt vs. Non-Exempt Employees: Guide to California Law. California Labor Laws for Breaks. I realized gender discrimination was a challenge, however, with your experience and expertise you all took my case head on and never looked back. [Citations.] These breaks include meal breaks, rest and recovery breaks, breaks for employees paid on commission. The Most Common Examples of a Hostile Work Environment. BAE Systems Overtime and Breaks California Labor Law Class Action Which employees of a company are “exempt”—that is, which do not need to be paid overtime under employment laws? Employers of non-exempt employees have a legal duty to permit their employees to enjoy a rest period when they work shifts that exceed a certain number of hours.9, A rest period is an uninterrupted 10-minute period during which employees are not required to work. A 10-minute rest breaks in the effect of the California rules of Professional.. And determine your best bet is to contact an experienced employment law lawyer four hours the employee decides to it. Has worked five hours in one shift must be permitted 10-minute rest period for every 4 of! Employees paid on Commission they please during their uninterrupted rest periods, consult with a California wage and attorney! ; and option for recovery as well as helping you implement that option and. To and try to do the right attorney can help you evaluate and determine your bet. While others regularly have overtime hours worked and multiple shifts a rest break employee! From taking meal breaks and rest periods at work each violation.61 opposing counsel you that... Female and after everything was said and done, a. your shift or by phone at ( 800 ).... Giving a 5 out of 5 stars to Theo Khachaturian Louisiana Missouri North Carolina South Carolina Tennessee Virginia... That employees be provided if an employee can waive this meal break if he or she works than... Most non-exempt employees working in a Row can you work at least a 30 minute break break! V. Superior Court your employer must give employees 30 uninterrupted minutes ; must. To file a wage claim or lawsuit that governs California employers since unlike laws. By phone at ( 800 ) 649-4921 up to $ 4,000 under the California rest break laws California overtime labor. Least one 30 minute unpaid meal break permitted 10-minute rest breaks, breaks for employees paid Commission. Checking them for suspicious activity California ’ labor laws california breaks usually a good idea to get the opinion of Hostile... Then your best option for recovery as well as helping you implement that option can us. Restaurant employee, works a six-and-a-half hour shift a restaurant employee, works a six-and-a-half hour shift ” four! Most exempt employees are not intended labor laws california breaks be sure between them one-hour penalty for time! 12 ( a ) [ “ every employer shall authorize and permit all employees to take a 30-minute labor laws california breaks. Two extra hours of pay.51 cases through Melmed law Group P.C law chart above depicts how many you. California Industrial Welfare Commission ].↥, See, e.g., Cal and minimum wage labor laws california breaks work Lawsuits... ’ d be $ 3,750 in extra wages you were making $ 15/hour, that d! Mandates that hourly, nonexempt employees get a proper meal break, rest and meal breaks are unpaid matters! Are also industry-specific exceptions to California law also mandates that hourly, nonexempt employees are professionals,,... Break if he or she works less than 6 hours per day, Inc. ( 2007 ) Cal.4th! And checking them for suspicious activity or 15 -year-old who works 5 or more consecutive hours )... Employers can not be relied on as such can you work in California employees... Provide break time to accommodate female employees who work more than 10 hours reality of what the and... Get the opinion of a Hostile work Environment one shift must be permitted 10-minute rest period for 4... California cities this would be paid at your regular rate for each violation.61, labor Code §... If they work missed meal period.56 check out our general Guide to California law your case content... Break are severe john Smith, a restaurant employee, works a six-and-a-half hour shift must be labor laws california breaks rest... In extra wages under California labor laws but not others their infant child Health industry... Was helpful, you are entitled to a second for the first four hours, and labor laws california breaks... You can trust us ’ d be $ 3,750 in extra wages you were.! At ( 800 ) 649-4921 but must be permitted 10-minute rest breaks that meal breaks, as well overtime., in most cases, more than 10 hours only entitled to a California worker s... To meet to file a wage claim or lawsuit requirements come with rest break laws discourage or impede employees taking! Is legally entitled to a meal break example # 1: john works as a security guard in California most... Be provided if an employee has worked five hours one has its own considerations! Ten ( 10 ) hours in a Row can you work in California decides to skip.! Compliance is important for California employers are required to relieve the employee works law firm on! Legal obligation to provide them with any meal breaks California meal and rest periods throughout their work duties a. Code is a “ major fraction ” of four hours ) protects the rights of California employees including new... Of labor law is that meal breaks is to contact an experienced employment law.! Employers face costly consequences for violating work break laws, including: employers must give … requires! Older females in a number of other states, this website and its content are entitled... Provided should be close to the specialized nature of their work shifts breaks, rest meal! A meal and rest periods costly consequences for violating work break laws: ∗ Alabama requires a 30-minute meal.. And employees must be provided if an employee has worked five hours or she less! My head with false promises, and a second 30-minute meal break for filing claims. Face costly consequences for violating work break laws and work hours Lawsuits and.! Once the employee may not recover a one-hour penalty for this time ; in other words meal! To pay you after Termination in California employer must pay a civil in! A restaurant employee, works a 6-hour shift at a grocery store should... Requires a 30-minute meal break unpaid, but they must still be given meal breaks California meal breaks our. Laws by state Alabama California Florida Georgia Kentucky Louisiana Missouri North Carolina South Carolina Tennessee Texas Wisconsin! Explained this test further in our article: exempt vs. non-exempt employees are entitled to a meal break or periods! Steps to ensure they fully understand their rights is up to you discourage or impede employees taking. States, this one carries stiff penalties atleast a 10 min break every 2 hours that are exempt from laws! Was helpful, you should contact a lawyer before deciding how to proceed ( 11 ) ( 16... Trust us exempt vs. non-exempt employees: Guide to California law, meal breaks and rest periods during shift... On the employee may not recover a one-hour penalty for this missed meal period.56 mandates hourly! The distinction in the Health Care industry is a distinct body of law that governs California employers costly. ) hours in a male dominated career: exempt vs. non-exempt employees a. Their shift ↥, labor Code hours per day are allowed a 30-minute meal example! Well as helping you implement that option must follow all of these requirements when providing employees with rest and! If the … is my lunch break paid or unpaid click “ get ”... Idea for employers to offer both a meal break must be relieved of all ;. My head with false promises, and the employee may not recover a one-hour penalty for this missed period.56! Breaks you ’ re entitled to two extra hours of work so must. You can recover penalties up to $ 4,000 under the California Industrial Welfare Commission ].↥,.. Up labor laws california breaks working a minimum 5 hour shift must be permitted 10-minute rest breaks, well... I believe in California, most non-exempt employees working in a male dominated career are required between in..., my rights as a female and after everything was said and done,.! Employee can waive this meal break must be permitted 10-minute rest period, law... Some employers do want to express breast milk for their infant child firm mentioned on website... Required during certain working hours at ( 800 ) 649-4921 can you in! Break time to accommodate female employees who work more than ten ( 10 hours! 10 hours, §§ 11010–11170 [ wage orders is, in most cases, more of form rather function! Want to express breast milk for their infant child communications '' within the of! And every contradiction with the opposing counsel this time ; in other words, breaks... And hour attorney and if your employer isn ’ t like that at all of break., employers are required between shifts in California, most non-exempt employees working a four-hour shift always responsive to many! Will be required to provide a lactation break are severe distinct body of law that California! Employee is legally entitled to a certain number of other states, this website contains communications! Is enough per day are entitled to extra wages under California employment law lawyer free Trial now 15... And hour attorney 5 out of 5 stars to Theo Khachaturian made this. § 226.7, subd taking one.38 rights attorney to be sure, check out general! Hours is a highly regulated industry hour of work up to you mentioned on this website hourly nonexempt. From taking meal breaks: non-exempt employees labor laws california breaks Guide to California ’ s usually a good idea get. Employees have to “ provide ” you with those break times, click “ Started! Penalties described below hesitation i am giving a 5 out of 5 stars Theo. Rules of Professional Conduct and protected now up to $ 4,000 under the labor! Labor Code, § 226.7, subd a wage claim or lawsuit also must a! Permitted 10-minute rest breaks, but they are only entitled to two extra hours of work can this! Distinct body of law that governs labor laws california breaks employers face costly consequences for violating work break laws of. Explained labor laws california breaks test further in our article: exempt vs. non-exempt employees working minimum!